State Agencies | Online Services
 

Infant Hearing 

BabyHearing loss is the number one birth defect in America occurring at a rate of about three in every 1,000 children. In Ohio, three of every 1,000 babies born will be diagnosed with hearing loss.  The critical period for speech, language, and communication development is between birth and three years old.

The earlier a child’s hearing loss is identified, the earlier a child can begin developing communication skills. Unidentified and untreated hearing loss may affect a child’s language development, educational achievement, literacy levels and social-emotional development.

The Ohio Department of Health, Infant Hearing Program, coordinates with birthing hospitals and free standing birthing facilities throughout Ohio to ensure that all newborns receive a hearing screening prior to discharge and the screening results are documented as required by legislative mandate.

The Ohio Infant Screening Program goals align with the 1-3-6 model:

    • Babies should be screened no later than 1 month of age

    • Babies should be diagnosed no later than 3 months of age

    • Babies should receive early intervention services no later than 6 months of age 
      

Click HERE to download the latest infant hearing brochure.
     

    Brochure

            Last Updated: 12/17/15