Ohia Depart=ant of Health

HMG HV TA CALL

Ohio Help Me Grow Home Visiting Technical Assistance Call March 2015

Updates

Contract Amendment:

e $5,000 payment for Model related fees to include: annual fees and model specific training costs.

e  Training dollars are approved! $54/hour of training, up to 20 hours ($1080) for home visitor trainings completed during
SFY2015. Please be sure to update your training hours at OPR.

Fiscal

e As the end of SFY2015 nears, make sure your home visiting data entry and billing are done in a timely manner. (ODH
monitors spending and reallocates unspent GRF monies if needed).

Training

o Please complete the survey monkey issued by Karen Auble related to the HFA PSCO training. The information ob-
tained will guide decisions around the locations and amount of trainings offered in the upcoming year.

Communication

¢ Reminder: Claire’s Law with Addition of Safe Sleep requirements for Home Visiting (see attached). Order/download re-
sources at www.SafeSleep.Ohio.gov

¢ Save the date! MIECHV
meeting will take place at
OCCRRA April 17th. More
details to follow.

e New Developmental
Wheels are here! We have
combined the social emo-
tional and developmental
wheels into a single two-
sided wheel! Also, in the
new Oh-Baby kits, we are
including a HMG Fever
Scan Child and Infant Ther-
mometer. Stay tuned!




Claire’s Law with Addition of Safe Sleep
Ohio Revised Code 3701
Effective May, 19 2015

Sec. 3701.63.

(A) As used in this section and sections 3701.64, 3701.66, and 3701.67 of the Revised Code:
(1) "Child day-care center," "type A family day-care home," and "licensed type B family
day-care home" have the same meanings as in section 5104.01 of the Revised Code.

(2) "Child care facility" means a child day-care center, a type A family day-care home, or
a licensed type B family day-care home.
(3) "Foster caregiver" has the same meaning as in section 5103.02 of the Revised Code.
(4) "Freestanding birthing center" has the same meaning as in section 3702.141 of the
Revised Code.
(5) "Hospital" means a hospital classified pursuant to rules adopted under section
3701.07 of the Revised Code as a general hospital or children's hospital and to which
either of the following applies:
() The hospital has a maternity unit.
(b) The hospital receives for care infants who have been transferred to it from
other facilities and who have never been discharged to their residences following
birth.
(6) "Infant” means a child who is less than one year of age.
(7) "Maternity unit" means the distinct portion of a hospital licensed as a maternity unit
under Chapter 3711. of the Revised Code.
(8) "Other person responsible for the infant” includes a foster caregiver.
(9) "Parent™” means either parent, unless the parents are separated or divorced or their
marriage has been dissolved or annulled, in which case "parent™” means the parent who is
the residential parent and legal custodian of the child. "Parent” also means a prospective
adoptive parent with whom a child is placed.
(10) "Shaken baby syndrome™ means signs and symptoms, including, but not limited to,
retinal hemorrhages in one or both eyes, subdural hematoma, or brain swelling, resulting
from the violent shaking or the shaking and impacting of the head of an infant or small
child.

(B) The director of health shall establish the shaken baby syndrome education program by doing

all of the following:

(1) Developing educational materials that present readily comprehendible

information on shaken baby syndrome;

(2) Making available on the department of health web site in an easily

accessible format the educational materials developed under division (B)(1)

of this section;

(3) Annually assessing the effectiveness of the shaken baby syndrome education program
by evaluating the reports received pursuant to section 5101.135 of the Revised Code.

(C) In meeting the requirements under division (B) of this section, the

director shall develop educational materials that to the extent possible, minimize administrative

or financial burdens on any of the entities or persons listed in section 3701.64 of the Revised

Code.



Sec. 3701.64.
(A) A copy of the shaken baby syndrome educational materials developed under section 3701.63
of the Revised Code shall be distributed in the following manner:

(1) By child birth educators and the staff of obstetricians' offices, to an expectant parent

who uses their services;

(2) By the staff of pediatric physicians' offices, to any of the following who use their

services: an infant's parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the infant;

(3) By the staff of a hospital or freestanding birthing to an infant's parent, guardian, or

other person responsible for the infant, before the child is discharged from the facility to

the infant's residence following birth;

(4) By the staff of the help me grow program established pursuant to section 3701.61 of

the Revised Code, to an infant's parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the

infant, during home-visiting services conducted in accordance with that section;

(5) By each child care facility operating in this state, to each of its employees;

(6) By a public children services agency, when the agency has initial contact with an

infant's parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the infant.

(B) An entity or person required to distribute educational materials pursuant to division (A) of
this section is not liable for damages in a civil action for injury, death, or loss to person or
property that allegedly arises from an act or omission associated with the dissemination of, those
educational materials unless the act or omission constitutes willful or wanton misconduct.

An entity or person required to distribute educational materials in accordance with
division (A) of this section is not subject to criminal prosecution or, to the extent that a person is
regulated under Title XLVII of the Revised Code, professional disciplinary action under that
title, for an act or omission associated with the dissemination of those educational materials.

This division does not eliminate, limit, or reduce any other immunity or defense that an
entity or person may be entitled to under Chapter 2744. Of the Revised Code, or any other
provision of the Revised Code, or the common law of this state.

Sec. 3701.66.
(A) As used in this section, "sudden unexpected infant death” means the death of an infant that
occurs suddenly and unexpectedly, the cause of which is not immediately obvious prior to
investigation.
(B) The department of health shall establish the safe sleep education program by doing all of the
following:
(1) By not later than sixty days after the effective date of this section, developing
educational materials that present readily comprehendible information on safe sleeping
practices for infants and possible causes of sudden unexpected infant death;
(2) Making available on the department's internet web site in an easily accessible format
the educational materials developed under division (B)(1) of this section;
(3) Beginning in 2015, annually assessing the effectiveness of the safe sleep education
program by evaluating the reports submitted by child fatality review boards to the
department pursuant to section 307.626 of the Revised Code.
(C) In meeting the requirements under division (B) of this section, the department shall develop
educational materials that, to the extent possible, minimize administrative or financial burdens on
any of the entities or persons required by division (D) of this section to distribute the materials.



(D) A copy of the safe sleep educational materials developed under this section shall be
distributed by entities and persons with and in the same manner as the shaken baby syndrome
educational materials are distributed pursuant to section 3701.64 of the Revised Code.

An entity or person required to distribute the educational materials is not liable for
damages in a civil action for injury, death, or loss to person or property that allegedly arises from
an act or omission associated with the dissemination of those educational materials unless the act
or omission constitutes willful or wanton misconduct.

An entity or person required to distribute the educational materials is not subject to
criminal prosecution or, to the extent that a person is regulated under Title XLV of the Revised
Code, professional disciplinary action under that title, for an act or omission associated with the
dissemination of those educational materials.

This division does not eliminate, limit, or reduce any other immunity or defense that an
entity or person may be entitled to under Chapter 2744 of the Revised Code, or any other
provision of the Revised Code, or the common law of this state.

(E) Each entity or person that is required to distribute the educational materials and has infants
regularly sleeping at a facility or location under the entity's or person's control shall adopt an
internal infant safe sleep policy. The policy shall specify when and to whom educational
materials on infant safe sleep practices are to be delivered to individuals working or volunteering
at the facility or location and be consistent with the model internal infant safe sleep policy
adopted under division (F) of this section.

(F) The director of health shall adopt a model internal infant safe sleep policy for use by entities
and persons that must comply with division (E) of this section. The policy shall specify safe
infant sleep practices, include images depicting safe infant sleep practices, and specify sample
content for an infant safe sleep education program that entities and persons may use when
conducting new staff orientation programs.

Sec. 3701.67.
(A) As used in this section:

(1) "Contractor" means a person who provides personal services pursuant to a contract.

(2) "Critical access hospital” means a facility designated as a critical access hospital by

the director of health under section 3701.073 of the Revised Code.

(3) "Crib™ includes a portable play yard or other suitable sleeping place.

(B) Each hospital and freestanding birthing center shall implement an infant safe sleep screening
procedure. The purpose of the procedure is to determine whether there will be a safe crib for an
infant to sleep in once the infant is discharged from the facility to the infant's residence following
birth. The procedure shall consist of questions that facility staff or volunteers must ask the
infant's parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the infant regarding the infant's intended
sleeping place and environment.

The director of health shall develop questions that facilities may use when implementing
the infant safe sleep screening procedure required by this division. The director may consult with
persons and government entities that have expertise in infant safe sleep practices when
developing the questions.

(C) If, prior to an infant's discharge from a facility to the infant's residence following birth, a
facility other than a critical access hospital or a facility identified under division (D) of this
section determines through the procedure implemented under division (B) of this section that the
infant is unlikely to have a safe crib at the infant’s residence, the facility shall make a good faith



effort to arrange for the parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the infant to obtain a
safe crib at no charge to that individual. In meeting this requirement, the facility may do any of
the following:
(1) Obtain a safe crib with its own resources;
(2) Collaborate with or obtain assistance from persons or government entities that are
able to procure a safe crib or provide money to purchase a safe crib;
(3) Refer the parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the infant to a person or
government entity described in division (C)(2) of this section to obtain a safe crib free of
charge from that source;
(4) If funds are available for the cribs for kids program or a successor program
administered by the department of health, refer the parent, guardian, or other person
responsible for the infant to a site, designated by the department for purposes of the
program, at which a safe crib may be obtained at no charge.
(D) The director of health shall identify the facilities in this state that are not critical access
hospitals and are not served by a site described in division (C)(4) of this section. The director
shall identify not less than annually the facilities that meet both criteria and notify those that do
S0.
(E) When a facility that is a hospital registers with the department of health under section
3701.07 of the Revised Code or a facility that is a freestanding birthing center renews its license
in accordance with rules adopted under section 3702.30 of the Revised Code, the facility shall
report the following information to the department in a manner the department prescribes:
(1) The number of safe cribs that the facility obtained and distributed by using its own
resources as described in division (C)(1) of this section since the last time the facility
reported this information to the department;
(2) The number of safe cribs that the facility obtained and distributed by collaborating
with or obtaining assistance from another person or government entity as described in
division (C)(2) of this section since the last time the facility reported this information to
the department;
(3) The number of referrals that the facility made to a person or government entity as
described in division (C)(3) of this section since the last time the facility reported this
information to the department;
(4) The number of referrals that the facility made to a site designated by the department
as described in division (C)(4) of this section since the last time the facility reported this
information to the department;
(5) Demographic information specified by the director of health regarding the individuals
to whom safe cribs were distributed as described in division (E)(1) or (2) of this section
or for whom a referral described in division (E)(3) or (4) of this section was made;
(6) In the case of a critical access hospital or a facility identified under division (D) of
this section, demographic information specified by the director of health regarding each
parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the infant determined to be unlikely to
have a safe crib at the infant's residence pursuant to the procedure implemented under
division (B)of this section;
(7) Any other information collected by the facility regarding infant sleep environments
and intended infant sleep environments that the director determines to be appropriate.
(F) Not later than July 1 of each year beginning in 2015, the director of health shall prepare a
written report that summarizes the information collected under division (E) of this section for the



preceding twelve months and provides any other information the director considers appropriate
for inclusion in the report. On completion, the report shall be submitted to the governor and, in
accordance with section 101.68 of the Revised Code, the general assembly.

(G) A facility, and any employee, contractor, or volunteer of a facility, that implements an infant
safe sleep procedure in accordance with division (B) of this section is not liable for damages in a
civil action for injury, death, or loss to person or property that allegedly arises from an act or
omission associated with implementation of the procedure, unless the act or omission constitutes
willful or wanton misconduct.

A facility, and any employee, contractor, or volunteer of a facility, that implements an
infant safe sleep screening procedure in accordance with division (B) of this section is not
subject to criminal prosecution or, to the extent that a person is regulated under Title XLVII of
the Revised Code, professional disciplinary action under that title, for an act or omission
associated with implementation of the procedure.

This division does not eliminate, limit, or reduce any other immunity or defense that a
facility, or an employee, contractor, or volunteer of a facility, may be entitled to under Chapter
2744, of the Revised Code, or any other provision of the Revised Code, or the common law of
this state.

(H) A facility, and any employee, contractor, or volunteer of a facility, is neither liable for
damages in a civil action, nor subject to criminal prosecution, for injury, death, or loss to person
or property that allegedly arises from a crib obtained by a parent, guardian, or other person
responsible for the infant as a result of any action the facility, employee, contractor, or volunteer
takes to comply with division (C) of this section.

The immunity provided by this division does not require compliance with division (D) of
section 2305.37 of the Revised Code.

Sec. 3701.68.
(A) As used in this section:
(1) "Academic medical center” means a medical school and its affiliated teaching
hospitals.
(2) "State registrar has the same meaning as in section 3705.01 of the Revised Code.
(B) There is hereby created the commission on infant mortality. The commission shall do all of
the following:
(1) Conduct a complete inventory of services provided or administered by the state that
are available to address the infant mortality rate in this state;
(2) For each service identified under division (B)(1) of this section, determine both of the
following:
(a) The sources of the funds that are used to pay for the service;
(b) Whether the service and its funding sources have a connection with programs
provided or administered by local or community-based public or private entities
and, to the extent they do not, whether they should.
(3) With assistance from academic medical centers, track and analyze infant mortality
rates by county for the purpose of determining the impact of state and local initiatives to
reduce those rates.
(C) The commission shall consist of the following members:
(1) Two members of the senate, one from the majority party and one from the minority
party, each appointed by the senate president;



(2) Two members of the house of representatives, one from the majority party and one

from the minority party, each appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;

(3) The executive director of the office of health transformation or the executive

director's designee;

(4) The medicaid director or the director's designee;

(5) The director of health or the director's designee;

(6) The executive director of the commission on minority health or the executive

director's designee;

(7) The attorney general or the attorney general's designee;

(8) A health commissioner of a city or general health district, appointed by the governor;

(9) A coroner, deputy coroner, or other person who conducts death scene investigations,

appointed by the governor;

(10) An individual who represents the Ohio hospital association, appointed by the

association's president;

(11) An individual who represents the Ohio children's hospital association, appointed by

the association's president;

(12) Two individuals who represent community-based programs that serve pregnant

women or new mothers whose infants tend to be at a higher risk for infant mortality,

appointed by the governor.
(D) The commission members described in divisions (C)(1), (2), (8), (9), (10), (11), and (12) of
this section shall be appointed not later than thirty days after the effective date of this section. An
appointed member shall hold office until a successor is appointed. A vacancy shall be filled in
the same manner as the original appointment.

From among the members, the president of the senate and speaker of the house of
representatives shall appoint two to serve as co-chairpersons of the commission.

A member shall serve without compensation except to the extent that serving on the
commission is considered part of the member's regular duties of employment.
(E) The commission may request assistance from the staff of the legislative service commission.
(F) For purposes of division (B)(3) of this section, the state registrar shall ensure that the
commission and academic medical centers located in this state have access to any electronic
system of vital records the state registrar or department of health maintains, including the Ohio
public health information warehouse. Not later than six months after the effective date of this
section, the commission on infant mortality shall prepare a written report of its findings and
recommendations concerning the matters described in division (B) of this section. On
completion, the commission shall submit the report to the governor and, in accordance with
section 101.68 of the Revised Code, the general assembly.
(G) The president of the senate and speaker of the house of representatives shall determine the
responsibilities of the commission following submission of the report under division (F) of this
section.
(H) The commission is not subject to sections 101.82 to 101.87 of the Revised Code.



